If you don’t want Google Chrome to save a record of what you visit and download, you can browse the web privately in Incognito mode.

Incognito mode opens a new window where you can browse the Internet in private without Chrome saving the sites you visit. You can switch between an Incognito window and any regular Chrome browsing windows you have open. You’ll only be in Incognito mode when you’re using the Incognito window.

Incognito mode only prevents Chrome from saving your site visit activity. It won’t stop other sources from seeing what sites you’ve visited, including:

  • Your Internet service provider
  • Your employer (if you’re using a work computer)
  • The websites you visit themselves

Chrome won’t save a record of the files you download in Incognito mode. However, the downloaded files will be saved to your computer’s Downloads folder, even after you close your Incognito tabs. You and anyone who uses your computer can see and open the files.

You can open an Incognito window on your computer to prevent Chrome from saving your browsing history. You can switch between an Incognito window and any regular windows you have open. You’ll only be in Incognito mode when you’re using the Incognito window.

Open Chrome. At the top right, click More and then New Incognito Window. A new window will open. In the top corner, check for the grey Incognito icon.

Incognito mode runs in a separate window from your normal Chrome browsing sessions. To exit Incognito mode, you’ll need to close all Incognito windows.

Go to your Incognito window. In the corner of the window, click Close.

https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95464?source=gsearch&hl=en

About The Author

Related Posts