In this tutorial, I’ll be showing you how to stop people adding you to Facebook Groups.

This video is one of the most requested tutorials and by a very large margin. The problem is Facebook will not allow users an easy way to stop people adding them to Groups. While doing research for this video I came across many complaints from Facebook users. Most are worried about their privacy, but others are also concerned about their employment. Being added to a very questionable group could cost someone their job. Sadly, even this tutorial is not a complete solution to the problem.

First up there still is no way to stop people adding you to groups. However, you can prevent members adding you to the same group again. This can be done on a Desktop or Mobile platform. Facebook even has a Groups App for iOS and Android users. This is why Facebooks Mobile App is very limited. They want you to download their Group’s App. For this tutorial, I will be using the desktop as it is the easiest way to show you.

To start off sign into your Facebook account. From your home page scroll over to the group’s icons on the left-hand side of the page. Click on the Groups text. You will be taken to the Groups page. Select a group you would like to leave. Now scroll over to the gear icon on the right-hand side. Click it. A small menu will appear with the option to “Leave Group”. Scroll down and click the text. A pop-up window will appear asking you if you want to leave the group. You can also report the group if you are having issues with it, or think it has inappropriate content to be a Facebook group. There is also a small tick box on the left allowing you to prevent other members adding you again. Click the box to receive a tick. Now scroll over to the Facebook blue “Leave Group” button and click that. You are now no longer a member of that group, and more importantly, no one can add you again without your permission.

About The Author

Related Posts